Why was Ecuador’s goal against Qatar offside in World Cup 2022 opener?

Supporters were left bewildered after Ecuador had a goal ruled out for offside in the early stages of the World Cup opener against hosts Qatar.

Enner Valencia thought he had scored the first goal of the tournament with a header after Qatar goalkeeper Saad Al Sheeb was left scrambling for the ball, but following a VAR check the effort was ruled out for offside.

However, many fans felt that the decision to disallow the goal was incorrect.

FIFA later released a graphic showing that Michael Estrada’s kneecap was offside in the build-up to the goal.
One Twitter user wrote: ‘Yes, that is not offside. 5 minutes into the World Cup, are you kidding?’.
Another Twitter user wrote: ‘Me trying to see how that goal was offside’.
Another wrote: ‘Me looking at the TV screen trying to find the offside Equador player’.
One user added: ‘Where was the offside??’.
Another stated: ‘Unless i’ve missed something, that Valencia goal has to stand… No offside or foul on the keeper?’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button